Songs of Meaning

Songs have always played an important role in my life. I can hear a song and it will flood back memories of an event I have connected with that song. These events are not always important. An example would be a song that brings back a memory of sitting on a school bus riding home from high school one day. I don’t know why that is what comes to mind, but it is. Green Sleeves was stuck on auto replay while I was in labor for my first son – it brings memories back every time.

There are a few songs which, when heard, I think about the career I chose (I decided in the fourth grade I wanted to teach the blind). Amazing Grace is one of those songs; I attended at Catholic school from first through seven grade. We sang Amazing Grace many times during our mass, in music class, and on Sundays when I attended church with my family. I think about the words in that song,

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me….
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now, I see.

and try to imagine what the person who wrote those lyrics was trying to say. As a fourth grader I actually thought it was about God or Jesus give sight to the blind. Of course the school did talk about a person not knowing religion and that, when they came to know God, it opened their eyes.I still like my vision better.

Later in life, after a few years of being a teacher of the visually impaired, I attached a new meaning to the words. I see my work as offering a way for the blind to see. Seeing is not always with the eyes, but with the sense of touch and sound. Braille and the cane use the sense of touch to help someone see. Using auditory cues like a water fountain motor or the chirp of a street crossing use the sense of sound to help someone see.

Someone once said

If you pick a career you love,

you will never work a day in your life.

Someone is so right!

Leave a Reply

